like, no duh

04May09
I have never made a secret of it, but in case you don’t already know: I’m diabetic. Type 1.
No, it has nothing to do with how much sugar I ate as a child. It has everything to do with it running in my family. Yes, it sucks. No, it’s not the worst thing in the world. Yes, I have to stick my fingers a lot. No, it doesn’t really hurt anymore. Yes, I wear an insulin pump. No, I wouldn’t mind explaining to you how it works, if you care to learn.
I don’t mind answering questions, as long as you’re not an asshole about them.
Anyway, the point. It never seems to fail, but whenever I end up with a new insurance company, I start getting the random letters. I got one yesterday from current Insurance Company. It started out with some bullshit about how they think I might be diabetic based on the sort of claims they’re getting from me. No shit, ya think?
It went on to startĀ outlining all of the things that I, as a responsible diabetic, should be doing to take care of myself. None of them were out of the ordinary:
  • yearly eye-exams (crapballs, I’m overdue)
  • yearly doctor visits (yearly? seriously? i see my endo every six weeks. it’s called being pro-active about one’s health. if i only saw the endo once or twice a year, i’m pretty sure i’d be fucked thriceways from sunday by now.)
  • test my sugar (five to ten times a day)
  • take my meds (duh. i don’t want to end up in the hospital. or with renal failure. or blind. etc etc etc)
The normal stuff, right? All mostly common sense, a lot of which even folks without diabetes should be doing. I’m mostly a believer in preventative care, even if I don’t always practice what I preacheth.
It just never fails to amuse the shit out of me when I get these letters. I mean, seriously, Insurance Company? Do you pay no attention to where my claims come from? I’ve been diabetic for over ten years now. I’m well with the program. I could probably write the fucking program, actually.
My claims come from two places: my endocrinologist (ding ding ding! we have a diabetic doctor!), and the company that provides me with my supplies for my insulin pump.
My prescriptions? Are for test strips for a glucometer (clue #2), and for INSULIN.
Really? I’m pretty sure this is the problem with healthcare in this country, right here.
One Response to “like, no duh”


  1. 1 like, no duh | diabetes

Leave a Reply

