liz and the horrible, terrible, no good, very bad day

14May09

Do you remember that book about the little boy who had the “horrible, terrible, no good, very bad day”? I do. And that’s the day I had yesterday. By about 0830 in the morning, I knew things were going downhill and fast.

I overslept. Not too big a deal, really, except it means I have to eliminate the shower from my morning routine. Oh, and eating breakfast at home. Oh, and generally everything else other than wiping off my face and putting on clean underwear.

I realized shortly before running out of the house that I would need to change my pump site at some point during the day, as 20 units certainly wouldn’t cut it. So I grabbed the necessary supplies, and reminded myself about forty times to grab a bottle of insulin out of the fridge before leaving.

Definitely forgot to do that.

Didn’t remember until I was three miles from the house.

The two minutes that it had taken me to get to that point in my drive turned into ten to get me home. By this point, I was practically in tears—mostly out of frustration. I absolutely cannot stand being late for anything. Even work. I wanted to just climb back into bed and tell the day to go fuck itself.

So I texted my boss to let her know I’d be late to work. Thankfully, I made it in by 0830, only to discover that we’re short at least four people today, so no one is in a good mood. It ended up being an incredibly long and stressful day.

I went to see Star Trek again after work. That helped some; for those two hours I was able to completely forget and just immerse myself in the film.

2 Responses to “liz and the horrible, terrible, no good, very bad day”

  1. 1 figgy

    Booo…that sucks, lizzie. I love the idea of telling a day to just fuck off. If only it would work.

    I recommend hot mens and/or a funny movie. And popcorn or some other comfort food.


Leave a Reply

