stupid whore computers

24Aug09

I have not been having the best luck ever with computers the past couple of weeks.

First, Alice the iMac (yeah, I named my computer, and you can shut it. yes, you. you right there. shut it.) up and decided to stop starting up properly. I kept getting the grey screen of death and a flashing folder with a question mark on it. uh oh, right? Well, the last time I started her up, I managed to get all of my photos backed up to one of my external hds (yes, I have two. what of it?). So, thank god for that. Because while she ran fine for the few days i left her turned on and didn’t even put her to sleep, last Sunday I turned her off before bed… and haven’t been able to start her up since.

I finally called Apple Saturday. The support dude had me try exactly one thing before telling me it sounded like my hd is dead and making me an appointment to drop her off at Apple for repair.

Thank god I got the extended warranty.

so i’ve been suffering through the week on the old lappy. compared to the dual core processor of the iMac, that thing moves at glacial speeds. Not only that, but there’s this one virus i’ve got quarantined on there that makes me nervous.

So today I was trying to update my iTunes because I’ve got a review to write and the damn album I’m supposed to review isn’t actually on my iPod yet, just on my external hd. Joy. And then I got a really weird error and I said to myself, fuck it. I got out the Windows XP disc and reinstalled Windows. Here’s hoping I don’t have further problems when I try to download iTunes and get that re-setup so I can listen to the album!

After these few problems, I’m kinda starting to hate technology. How are things going with that internet installed directly into one’s cerebral cortex thing? Because I’d like to get on that bandwagone.

Of course, when that does happen, an error would probably kill you instead of your computer.

4 Responses to “stupid whore computers”

  1. 1 Spender

    I feel for you, Lizzie.
    My compy has had nothing but “BSOD-Driver IRQL not equal to or less than…blah, blah, fuggidy blah” when I try to boot it up. It has been a week, so far. Broke down yesterday and began installing a new motherboard with the faint hope that the issue will be resolved but, nah… I ain’t holding my breath.
    Hope Alice comes back in good health.

    • Ouch. That’s pretty painful, Spender. I feel for you as well. Apple called me this morning, and said “yeah, the hard drive is dead. Can we just go ahead and replace that for you or do you need to try to pull stuff off it first?” And I said “no, thank God, I already backed mah shit up, go for it.” So hopefully I’ll have my baby back by the end of the week.

  2. My desktop is named Beatrice (Tim’s choice), and my laptop (which I’ll be calling a “lappy” from now on) is called Marge Jr. Just, you know, FYI.

    Also, at least you know enough to re-install Windows. It would never even occur to me. I’d just be like, “Ack! Tim, call one of your computer geek friends! Ack!” and not have a computer until one of them fixed it. I really need to learn about this stuff….

    • I believe I stole lappy from Strongbad. I won’t swear to it, though. But it’s a great name for a laptop.

      I reinstalled Windows because I had a big ol’ virus I really needed to get rid of. Then I ended up giving her to my brother and he updated ALL of my drivers, like, four times so that the damn thing is running properly again.


Leave a Reply

