She’s got me like nobody

03Feb10

OK, enough blather about the wedding. It was nice, on to other things.

I’m woefully behind on my reading. On the other hand, I’m reading something like four books right now. I never used to do that.

There’s the one that I both have a terrible time putting down and sometimes can’t quite bring myself to pick back up again, because I know it’s going to break my heart at least two more times before I finish the last hundred pages. That one is The Stress of Her Regard. This book has already jumped into a nice cozy spot amongst my “oh holy shit this is one of the best books I’ve ever read” group. (It’s up there with The Court of the Air and The Lies of Locke Lamora.)

(Dear Scott Lynch, Please release the next book in The Gentleman Bastard Sequence post haste. I need to be able to keep going once I’ve started Red Seas Under Red Skies. Thanks, Lizzie)

I’m also reading Emilie Autumn’s The Asylum for Wayward Victorian Girls. This is one that strictly stays by my bed. A lot of it is because it’s a huge hardback book, more of a coffee table book than anything even remotely portable. It’s lovely, all full color and with pictures and a bunch of Emilie’s drawings and whatnot. It’s a fascinating and harrowing read, since it deals with the author’s incarceration in a mental ward as well as including fictional elements that she used to cope with her situation. Fascinating. Really.

A few weeks ago, I started World War Z. It’s good, I like it, but it’s not exactly something I can just sit down and read. It’s a little too… dry for me. Is dry the right word? Maybe I just mean that due to the documentarian nature of the prose, I find it a bit disturbing and I don’t like reading it before bed. That sounds about right.

And finally, I started reading Déjà Dead, the first book in the series that the TV show “Bones” is based on. I like so far, but I’ve only gotten a few pages in. So that’s sitting and waiting as well.

I suppose all this is to say that I’m woefully behind and very divided in my reading attentions of late, but I’m still plugging away and trying to keep at it as best I can. So, more reviews shall hopefully be coming soonest! I don’t know that I’ll have much time for reading this weekend during my trip, but I’ll certainly have a book with me at all times, because when do I not?

3 Responses to “She’s got me like nobody”

  1. I really like Kathy Reichs’ novels. They’re way better than the TV show!

  2. The guy they do have, Andrew, is plenty hot, trust me 🙂 It’s all in the imagination, baby!


Leave a Reply

