teh diabeetus sucks

18Feb10

I’ve decided to start a new category on thisy here blog, and to write about some of the day to day crap I have to deal with, being diabetic.

I don’t think I’ve really written much about it before, and that has more to do with the fact that I barely think about the things I have to do all the time that I wouldn’t if I had a normally functioning pancreas; I’ve been doing this for long enough now that it’s second nature. I feel naked if I leave the house without my glucose meter, for example.

And I’ve never done what a lot of young people do when they’re first diagnosed. I never really saw much point in rebelling against it. Consequently, I’ve never made any additional trips to the ER. I’ve never had to be admitted, after I was first diagnosed. The only times I’ve been in a hospital over the last eleven years were for my dad.

Because I’d like to keep that streak up, I’ve lately been working on taking better care of myself. This is going to involve a lot more due diligence on my part. More testing. More meal planning. More exercise. Nothing that plenty of folks out there shouldn’t be doing, it’s just that it’s far more important that I do it, especially if I don’t want to end up needing a new kidney in five years. Or blind. Or lose a foot. You know, the usual.

ANYWAY. From a diabetic standpoint, today has royally sucked (nb: read everything as yesterday, as it will be by the time you read this). My sugar has been totally out of whack, and while I have a couple of inklings why, I’m not totally sure. And I hate it.

I tested when I finally sat down to eat breakfast at work this morning. I knew that I was going to be a touch high, because I’d just eaten a cookie not ten minutes prior.

My sugar was 445. That’s bad. That’s *really* bad, people. Keep in mind that “normal” is 80 to about 115, and the closer to 80 the better. BAD.

Well fuck me sideways, I thought to myself. There goes breakfast.

I drank a glass of milk, because I’d already poured it, and covered for both that and for the high sugar, and set a BG reminder (my pump beeps at me at set intervals if I tell it to, to remind me to test my sugar again) for an hour later. Just so I could monitor and make sure my sugar was going in the right direction.

Now. Not eating breakfast? Not the smartest idea ever for a diabetic. But I wasn’t feeling hungry anyway, so I sucked it up. I tested again about an hour later, and my sugar was 385. While this is a step in the right direction, I still wasn’t satisfied. I let the pump decide if it wanted to give me more insulin, and it did, but just a touch, and set the BG reminder for another hour. At just before eleven, I was finally starting to feel hungry, and my sugar was 279. OK, it’s finally coming down, I thought. I’ll eat a granola bar. So I did that, and covered for it and for still being so fucking high, and set the reminder for another hour.

Unfortunately I ended up getting really busy at work and then had to run to the PO before eating, so it was closer to two hours before I tested again. Good news, however: my sugar was finally under 150. Blessing of blessings! I don’t have to change my pump site (well, except I’m due for a change tomorrow anyway).

I still wasn’t hungry at lunch, so I didn’t eat much. I of course covered for it, but I bumped the BG reminder back to 2 hours, which is the usual time for me. So of course I’ve been *starving* ever since then. I am, however, going to try to stick it out til three, when I normally eat an afternoon snack. Hopefully all this won’t catch up with me and send me crashing into a low. Hopefully.

So you catch a small idea of the sort of thing a diabetic has to deal with on a day to day basis. I don’t run high like this too often, thankfully, but when this sort of thing happens, it’s constantly on my mind until I’ve gotten things back into a more acceptable range. It might be the lows that send people rushing to the hospital, but it’s the highs that fuck with your internal organs. The diabeetus is all about the balance. And I’m still working my ass off trying to find that balance.

ETA: I got really sick of being starved (read: I was about to shank a bitch for a cookie), so I tested about half an hour earlier than intended. As my sugar was a blessed 148, I went ahead and inhaled some cheerios and a glass of milk. More than I would normally have for a snack, but see above regarding shanking bitches.

2 Responses to “teh diabeetus sucks”

  1. What do you MEAN you don’t want to lose a foot? That’s why we have TWO!

    Ahem. Not to pretend I know your life, but I have experienced sugar misery of the hypoglycemic nature. I too have wanted to shank a bitch for a cookie or slug of orange juice. I have heard that cinnamon is good for diabetes in some sugar-regulating respect. True?

    • well, if i ever do lose a foot, I’m replacing it with a wheel.

      I’ve heard that about cinnamon as well, but I haven’t looked into the research. Chances are it works better for T2s than for T1s. Like most things. Stupid insulin dependency.

      Hypoglycemia doth suck cock by choice, indeed.


Leave a Reply

